Outstanding Leadership Award in Honor of Jack Creamer

Outstanding Leadership Award in Honor of Jack Creamer (formerly the Jack Creamer Automotive Leader of the Year Award)

This annual award recognizes an individual, employed in the aftermarket, who over the past several years, has made a unique and monumental contribution to the industry and/or the association. The accomplishment that warrants this award must go well above and beyond any routine or day-to-day activity and shall be reflective of a commitment to the industry that few individuals can match. This award is to be perceived as the industry's highest honor/recognition. Award winners need not be AWDA members.


bill hanvey
Bill Hanvey, President and CEO, the Auto Care Association
paul mccarthy
Paul McCarthy, President and COO, the Automotive Aftermarket Suppliers Association (AASA).









The Automotive Warehouse Distributors Association (AWDA), a community of the Auto Care Association, presented its 2020 Outstanding Leadership Award to Bill Hanvey, President and CEO, the Auto Care Association, and Paul McCarthy, President and COO, the Automotive Aftermarket Suppliers Association (AASA). The award was announced on November 16 at the Opening General Session of AWDA's 2020 Virtual Annual Conference. Presenting this year's award was AWDA's 2015 Leader of the Year, Larry Sills, Chairman, Standard Motor Products.

Each year, AWDA bestows this prestigious award, formerly known as the “Leader of the Year,” on an aftermarket professional who has contributed to the industry in a unique and significant way. The award is named in honor of former AWDA President, Jack Creamer. This is the first time in 26 years that two individuals have been jointly honored with AWDA's highest award.

The past year has witnessed unprecedented challenges for the motor vehicle aftermarket and its two major trade associations. Hanvey and McCarthy were forced to deal with multiple threats to the viability of their industry and respective associations. The impacts of the successful battle for the Right-to-Repair in Massachusetts, the devastation of COVID-19, the cancellation of AAPEX and conversion of most other events to un-tested virtual formats were far-reaching and unprecedented.

As members struggled to maintain financial viability, they looked to their associations for guidance, support, encouragement and collaborative leadership as personified by Bill Hanvey and Paul McCarthy.

Bill Hanvey was named President and CEO of the Auto Care Association in 2015 and has spent his entire 36+ year career in the aftermarket, including stints at Tenneco, FleetPride, Dorman Products, Schaeffler Group USA, and AASA. Hanvey served as chairman of the Auto Care Association's Marketing and Communications Committee from 2009 - 2012, when the "Be Car Care Aware" consumer education campaign was being developed and served on the Board of Directors of the Automotive Communications Council in 2008. In 2014, he earned the Northwood University Educator of the Year Award.

After a quarter century of experience in the automotive industry, Paul McCarthy assumed the position of President and Chief Operating Officer of Automotive Aftermarket Suppliers Association in July 2019. As leader of the Automotive and Industrial Products Strategy Practice at PricewaterHouse (PwC), McCarthy consulted at dozens of automotive suppliers, eight of the top ten global automakers, private equity firms and financial institutions.

Said Larry Pavey, CEO, Automotive Parts and Services Group, "This is a great year to recognize the leadership provided by our associations in tackling industry challenges together and working together for the benefit of all. It seems like a year that really signifies the collaboration between the presidents and associations, as WDs and suppliers."

Added Marc Blackman, Gold Eagles, "Bill and Paul both bring different and valuable industry experience that complement one another. With the challenges and opportunities facing the aftermarket for the first time in the history of both associations, they have realized that collaboration and speaking with one coordinated voice regarding critical issues facing the aftermarket is essential to the future and well-being of our industry."

Previous Award Recipients
  • 2019 John Bartlett
  • 2018 Larry Pavey
  • 2017 Bill Maggs
  • 2016 Fred Bunting
  • 2015 Larry Sills
  • 2014 Joseph A. Pomaranski, MAAP
  • 2013 Rusty Bishop, AAP
  • 2012 Kathleen Schmatz, MAAP
  • 2011 Dennis M. Welvaert, MAAP
  • 2010 Rollance E. Olson
  • 2009 E. Fletcher Lord
  • 2008 Robert F. Egan
  • 2007 William D. Grote, III
  • 2006 Dr. David Fry
  • 2005 Timothy A. Lee, AAP
  • 2004 John Washbish, AAP
  • 2003 Richard Morgan, AAP
  • 2002 Joe Owen
  • 2001 Michael Cardone Jr.
  • 2000 Jack Creamer, AAP
  • 1999 Tom Gallagher
  • 1998 N. Arthur Epstein, AAP
  • 1997 Aaron Berkowitz
  • 1996 Clay Buzzard, AAP
  • 1995 David O'Reilly
  • 1994 Nathaniel Sills / Bernard Fife
  • 1993 Robert H. Raff, MAAP
  • 1992 Arthur E. Lottes III
  • 1991 Larry McCurdy
  • 1990 Martin Fromm, AAP
  • 1989 O. Temple Sloan
    C. Hamilton Sloan
  • 1988 Peter R. Kornafel, MAAP
  • 1987 Robert Sirotek, AAP
  • 1986 Allen C. Richey
  • 1985 Sen. John C. Danforth
  • 1984 R. Jack Alexander Jr.
  • 1983 Charles N. Gaskill, AAP
  • 1982 Elliot Lehman, AAP
  • 1981 Wilton Looney
  • 1980 Mort Schwartz, AAP
  • 1979 Robert Z. Friedman
  • 1978 A.K. Hannum
  • 1977 Basil J. Mezines
  • 1976 Rene C. McPherson
  • 1975 Richard C. Teasel
  • 1974 John M. Yantis
  • 1973 Frederick J. Mancheski, AAP
  • 1972 Frank M. Norfleet
  • 1971 Arthur Wolff
  • 1970 E.N. "Ernie" Robinson
  • 1969 Thomas S. Perry, AAP
  • 1968 H.C. "Skip" Stivers
  • 1967 Olin Ennis
  • 1966 Edward Gammie
  • 1965 C.M. Scates
  • 1964 C.S. Rogers
  • 1963 C.A. Benoit Jr.
  • 1962 Harold T. Halfpenny
  • 1961 Joe E. Bickel
  • 1960 Ira Saks
  • 1959 Victor L. Toft